You are here: / state / Legislative Power

Legislative Power of Russia

Legislative Power Summary | The State Duma | Council of the Federation | Sources |

Last updated: October 7, 2016

Federal Assembly is the Parliament of the Russian Federation. It the highest national legislative body that represents interests of the Russian citizens. The Assembly comprises two chambers: the State Duma (lower chamber) and the Council of the Federation (upper chamber). All responsibilities and authority of the Assembly are distributed between these two chambers. The chambers operate separately, but they gather for hearing of the President’s messages, messages of the Constitutional Court and messages of heads of foreign countries.

Each of 85 subjects of the Federation (units of administrative division, i.e. Russian regions) has also own regional legislative body, which is typically called Legislative Assembly. There are separate elections to regional legislative assemblies.

Terms of Use | Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy

© 2015-2016