You are here: / state / Executive Power

Executive Power of Russia

Executive Power Summary | The President | Prime Minister | The Russian Government | Sources |

Last updated: December 2, 2016

According to Chapter 6 of the Russian Constitution[1] the superior body of the Russian federal executive power is the Government of the Russian Federation.

The Russian Government comprises the Chairman of the Russian Government (Prime Minister), Deputy Prime Ministers and Federal Ministers.

In Russia the activities of the Government are factually led and supervised by the President of the Russian Federation, who defines key directions of the domestic and foreign policy and secures effective operations and interactions between the state bodies under Chapter 4 of the Constitution.

The President appoints the Prime Minister subject to approval of the State Duma, the lower chamber of the Russian Parliament, and approves candidates for the positions of the Deputy Prime Ministers and Federal Ministers. He has the right to act as the Chairperson at the meetings of the Government. The decrees and orders of the President have a nature of executive power acts.

Important note: there is a dispute whether to consider the President as a part of the Russian executive power. On the one hand, his activities address primarily executive issues, and he communicates primarily with the Russian Government on the most tasks. On the other hand, the scope of his competences goes well beyond executive issues. With this comment we place the materials on the President in the present Executive Power section.

The President of the Russian Federation is presently Mr. Vladimir Putin.

The Head of the Russian Government (Prime Minister of Russia) is presently Mr. Dmitry Medvedev.

Photo sources: and under Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License (pictures rescaled).

The major federal bodies of executive power subordinate to the Government are federal ministries, services and agencies.

At the regional level the state executive power is represented by governments of the subjects of the Federation (85 in total). The regional governments are led by governors that are typically elected either by means of the popular vote or via voting in regional parliaments depending on legislation of a specific subject of the Federation.

Terms of Use | Copyright | Disclaimer | Privacy

© 2015-2016